The Parish does not run itself; it requires the talents, energy and time of many volunteers to keep it going. The Rector is the only paid member of staff and is responsible for leading worship and the spiritual care of the parishioners. The Wardens are responsible for the church property and in ensuring that all the bills are paid in a timely fashion. At the Church of the Ascension, there are two wardens (Pat Cunningham – Rector’s Warden; Jen Ames– People’s Warden) and a Deputy Warden (Brent Leigh). There is also a church board with representatives from the different parish groups that meet on a monthly basis to plan and to report on the day to day running of the church. Board members are elected on a yearly basis at the Annual Vestry Meeting. The whole congregation meets annually as Vestry to elect officers, approve budgets, and make policy decisions. Parish Council oversees the ongoing work of the parish and makes decisions on behalf of the Vestry. This includes spiritual growth and community activities, as well as the administrative and financial activities.

The Parish Office is usually open Monday evening from 4:00pm-8:00pm and Friday morning from 10:00am-1:00pm. It is suggested that if you wish to speak to the Rector that you call the church office at 705-566-2790 to make an appointment. Baptisms and Weddings require three (3) months notice.


  • Rector: Reverend Aidan Armstrong
  • ACW President: Cathy Dionne
  • Altar Guild: Anne Trimmer
  • Board Members at Large: Jennifer Ames, Gary Bate, Cindy Caines, Rob Caines, Lori Cameron, Jane Cox, Pat Cunningham, Cathy Dione, Kathryn Greenidge, Pippa Howard, Brent Leigh, Ralph Mounter, Beaumont Nelson, Ashley Rozon, Chantal Rozon, Michael Sheppard, Thelma Smith, Anne Trimmer, Megan Trimmer, Marie Vitone
  • Bulletin Editor: Glenn Lloyd
  • Child/Youth Ministry: Cindy Caines
  • Coffee Hour Convener: Kay Winfield or Anne Trimmer, and Noella Fowler for 9:00am
  • Envelope Secretary: Ralph Mounter
  • Finance: Cathy Dionne
  • Flower Convener: Anne Trimmer
  • Greeters: All Board Members and Parishioners
  • Hall Rental Coordinator: Joan Servent
  • Honourable Associates:  The Reverend Bob Derrenbacker and The Reverend Jeff Hooper
  • Mission & Outreach: Marie Vitone
  • Music – Electric Kazoo: Erma Howe, Michael White, Ralph Mounter, Doug Frozel, Cora Felbel
  • Music – Choir: Roz Jones
  • Newsletters: Reverend Aidan Armstrong
  • Parish Auditor: Dave Fowler
  • Parish Life: Jennifer Aimes
  • Parish Council Members & Synod Delegates: Jennifer Ames, Cathy Jewell, Catherine Bird-Heuft (alternate)
  • Property: Wardens
  • PWRDF Representative: Pippa Howard
  • Readers/Prayers for the People: Reverent Bob Derrenbacker
  • Server’s Guild: Pippa Howard, Teresa Kernan
  • Treasurer: Cathy Dionne
  • Vestry Clerk: Catehrine Jewell
  • Webmaster: Joan Servent
  • Worship & Pastoral Care: Reverend Aidan Armstrong and Marie Vitone
  • Wardens: Pat Cunningham, Rector’s Warden; Jen Ames, People’s Warden; Brent Leigh, Deputy Warden
  • Youth Representative to the Board: Megan Trimmer

A Parish Leaders Manual is available for download here (234 kb pdf)